POST 100!

100 postsIn honor of my 100th post (yay!), I’d like to share a few thoughts about my blog and blogging in general. I’ve narrowed it down to ten thoughts, for the readers’ and writer’s sakes! Some are in this post and some will im yirtzeh Hashem be in the next one, because 101 is not just one more than 100 in quantity but a great leap in quality. Thank you for continuing to take this journey with me!

  1. Some notes about the categories: The first categories in the list, the ones with English-only names, indicate what type of content is included in the post. The Hebrew-English categories list the main subjects of the post.
  2. Free translation category: Every word and nuance of Torah is decisive and instructive. Torah doesn’t need my editorial help, boruch Hashem! I aim to translate the Torah’s words as literally as possible. If my translation is inaccurate I pray that it doesn’t distort Torah’s truth too much. I like to think of it as a free translation- it’s freely based on my own language abilities, and it’s free of obligating the Torah to fit into my understanding.
  3. Farby category: In my high school’s lingo a farby is an unofficial farbrengen. Farbrenging about what we’ve learned helps us relate to it and apply it to our lives. As I present my thoughts and ideas about the Torah I share I prefer to do so informally, without claiming that my perspective is the verified truth or the superior or exclusive view. I would be delighted if you would keep the farbrengen going by sharing your thoughts and ideas!
  4. I owe a big thank you to all those who have graciously helped over the years. You’ve contributed in so many ways, including translating words and concepts, directing me to sources, correcting my mistakes and suggesting topics for discussion or elaboration. Yasher koach! Well done!
  5. Last year, I shared my story of how I committed to being shomer negiah (guarding one’s touch with the opposite gender) with all boys, even those that I wish I could stay close to. Torah absolutely does not need my validation, but I want to share how this decision in affecting me. In all honesty, it can be very hard. I want to be close to these boys, whether they’re my nephews or my friends’ kids. I want my relationship with them to be the same as it is with the rest of their siblings. It’s especially hard when the whole family is singing, and I have to stay quiet or find another way to contribute to the song. But, despite the difficulties, I now have an even greater appreciation for the gift of the halachos (laws) of shomer negiah. They really do create a distance between me and the boys. When they were nine it felt a little ridiculous, but now they’re getting older and I can sense that they’re maturing and the distance is increasingly necessary for them. Having started when they were nine we already have the boundaries in place, and we are familliar with them. When I heard one of the boys tell another adult woman that no, she can’t hug him, I felt proud of him and also a little proud of me and of us for his sensitivity to being shomer negiah. As I say about my nieces and nephews, I take pride and only a little credit!

Let's Farbreng! Please share your thoughts